Ronaldo ends Messi reign with Ballon d’Or win

A tearful Cristiano Ronaldo paid tribute to all those around him after he won the 2013 FIFA Ballon d’Or, beating Lionel Messi and Franck Ribéryto the world crown.

Real Madrid CF and Portugal forward Cristiano Ronaldo has won the FIFA Ballon d’Or after he beat Lionel Messi and Franck Ribéry to the world crown.

“First of all I have to say a great thanks to all of my team-mates with the club and the national team,” said Ronaldo, fighting back the tears after collecting the award from Pelé. “Without all of their efforts this would not have been possible. I am very happy, it is very difficult to win this award. Everybody that has been involved with me on a personal level I have to thank. My wife, my friends, my son. It is a tremendously emotional moment. All I can say is thank you to everybody that has been involved.”

©Getty Images
Jupp Heynckes collects his award
Jupp Heynckes won the FIFA World Coach of the Year for Men’s Football 2013 seeing off competition from fellow retiree Sir Alex Ferguson and Borussia Dortmund’s Jürgen Klopp. Heynckes, of course, masterminded Bayern’s incredible 2012/13 campaign, rewriting the record books as the Bavarian outfit claimed the treble, bowing out on a high as he stepped back from coaching. Compatriot Silvia Neid won the women’s equivalent, with another German, Nadine Angerer, taking the women’s best player award.

“I’m tremendously thankful to be here to pick up this award today,” said the 68-year-old Heynckes. “It means a lot to pick up an award right at the end of my career. Normally in team sports it is often difficult to put things together like this. It isn’t just down to me this is down to the whole club, Bayern, everybody that has been working with me during this period.

“We have been blessed with world class players and they produced amazing performances. The coaching staff have also lent their weight. I want to thank everybody that has pulled together and helped me to produce this winning team. Maybe ten years ago, I wouldn’t even have dreamt of this. I am humbled and happy to be standing here. Thank you very much.”

The FIFA Puskás Award for goal of the year was won by Zlatan Ibrahimović for his remarkable 35-metre overhead kick for Sweden against England in November 2012.

The FIFA/FIFPro World XI was also announced:
Manuel Neuer (FC Bayern München); Daniel Alves (FC Barcelona), Philipp Lahm (FC Bayern München), Thiago Silva (Paris Saint-Germain), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid CF); Xavi Hernández (FC Barcelona), Andrés Iniesta (FC Barcelona), Franck Ribéry (FC Bayern München); Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid CF), Zlatan Ibrahimović (Paris Saint-Germain).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s